NaNoWriMo 2013

NaNoWriMo. National Novel Writing Month. One month. Fifty thousand words.

I’m going to do it! This year I will be entering the competition again. I want to challenge myself to go through with this. I have to push myself to the end. Even though I might just give up like I did in all those last years. However, this year I know a friend of mine is going to enter too. “It’s great to have a writingbuddy”, she said. I couldn’t agree more. I’m looking forward to sharing all the complaining and little victories we’re going to have.

There are still some questions to be awnsered. Little dilemmas, so to speak. What language am I going to be writing in? English isn’t my native language, but if I’m going to start a Fantasy novel the words will just fall flat if I do it in Dutch. I’m not even sure if I should be writing a Fantasy novel. Perhaps it’s best to challenge myself with a new genre. And why am I even worried about the genre, when I should be worried about the plot?

Image
A really early draft of Intertwined: the prequel

I did recently complete the first draft of a history background/prequel for my story Intertwined. I know the characters, setting and I already have some killer ideas. I could start on that story, because I’ve been living with it for 4 years (yikes!). Then again, this seems like the easy way out. I am so devoted to this story that I even made a tumblr for it, but it’s pretty frustrating that the only one I can share the awesomeness with is my co-creator. The other friends I have send it to just brush it off and don’t seem to give much of a reaction to an early unfinished draft of the prequel I send them. Probably because they think it’s not very good and don’t want to hurt me. I know that shouldn’t matter, but it does. On the other hand if I don’t write that story now, when am I ever going to write it? But then there’s also the fact that having to write 50.000 words in one month is going to drain the quality of it all. Oh joy, these discussions I have with myself.

If I decide to write in English, I’ll keep you guys posted. If not, you Dutchies might be able to read my progress at my Dutch blog Creatief met Woorden.

PS: Yay, my first blogpost on this domain. I’ve created it a while ago, but wasn’t sure what to do with it. I’m still not sure, but procastinating it isn’t going to help either. I’ve been telling myself that I want to start blogging for a while now, but I never actually did until today. We’ll see how long it lasts. For now, hello dear reader!

Leave a Reply

