I want to be a writer

At a very young age I knew that I wanted to be a writer. I guess it must have been in my freshmen year that I really discovered that writing was what I wanted to do with my life. I enjoy it and I feel like I am quite good at it. Sure, I’m no J.K Rowling or Jane Austen, but I have progressed a lot. It’s funny when you read older pieces that you thought were the bomb and now turn out to be not so good as you thought. It’s still nice to read them, because you get to see how much better you are now. It’s nice to see that you’ve grown without noticing.

However there’s one part that hasn’t really grown in me as a writer. I still don’t know what exactly it is I want to write. Maybe you never know. Maybe you just stumble across your masterpiece by trying to create something else. Often the biggest success was actually a mistake you made or a piece you thought of in five minutes. It’s just that I’m studying to be a Journalist, so I’m going to make my living off of writing. Which is why it can be slightly frustrating that I have no idea what I want to do. I know I want to write bigger stories that intruge people in some kind of way. I love interviewing people and hearing what drives them. I’m interested in people’s passions. There are few things greater seeing someone talk about what they love and trying to understand them. I’ve most enjoyed the personal stories I had to write like that. I just feel like that’s not something I can earn a lot of money with. Let alone enough. But I also learned that it’s most important to follow your heart. It’s always brought me exactly where I needed to be. When I didn’t listen to my gut, things seemed to go a little off track.

So that’s why I’m listening to my heart. Even though right now it’s not saying much. I know I’m only twenty, but I have to think about what it is I want to write. I’ve been wanting to write a book for more than ten years now. Yet I didn’t know the genre then and I don’t know the genre now. I guess it’s not the genre that matters. Wheter it’s fantasy, romance, thriller or non-fiction. The story that I feel that needs to be told will be most important. I don’t care which genre I write about as long as the story is interesting. But I can’t always write about interesting stories, although there is an interesting aspect to everything. Sometimes finding one is hard.

I’ve always known which step I would take next. I had everything planned until my Journalism bachelor, but now I can’t think of what I’ll be doing when I graduate. It’s a matter of finding a magazine that feels close to heart. I do know I want to write. Still, it’s going to be hard applying for jobs when you have no idea where to apply. I don’t know what suits me or what I’d like. I guess that scares me a little. I like knowing what I’ll be doing later on. It’s always more productive to work towards a goal.

I know I’ll have enough time to think about what I want. It’s not that I am trying to stick to one genre or platform. It’s just that I’d be nice to have an idea that’s slightly less vague than personal stories about people and their emotions. My friend Amber once said she’d see me writing a book about interesting people and their stories. That would be lovely, but I really have to find another gameplan.

I really have to start looking what kind of magazines there are. Part of the reason that I don’t know what I’ll be doing is because my knowledge of the possibilities is very low. I also know that you can’t plan some things. It seems as though good things do come your way, but looking for them may make them come faster.

Leave a Reply

