NaNoWriMo ’13 update

While I was reading Homestuck, I got really inspired for a NaNoWriMo story. My thoughts wandered while reading this webcomic. I was thinking about how wonderful it was that these kids became fiends through the internet and that the pop culture references in Homestuck were pretty cool. Why don’t I try something like that? Then it hit me. I could try something like that! I could tie in the wonderful world of social media (especially tumblr), fandoms and socially awkward teens by writing a story about all these things.

I’ve got several ideas now. I want two characters to meet each other by the ask function on tumblr. I want them to fangasm about their main fandom. They instantly realize they have so much in common, while the girl with the point of view thinks she doesn’t have anything in common with the people around her. It’s going to be a story in which I can write fanfiction that the girl/boy would write (aka fangirling about Korra). Which for some reason made me super excited. I can also tie in cosplay and other geek culture. Of course tumblr will evolve to facebook, twitter, skype and ultimately a real life meeting. I think I want to end the story when these two meet for real. I’m going to tie in an obsessive parent, because they will take a lot of time ensuring their children that the internet is dangerous. At least my mom did. My story already reminds me a little of Rainbow Rowell’s ‘Fangirl‘ by reading the synopis. I’ve yet to read that one, but I thought it was such a cool idea to write about a girl that loves to write fanfiction. Heh, sorry Rainbow.. kinda borrowing your idea here. (Btw, is Rainbow her real name?)

I’m not sure if I’m going to have the two people be straight, bi or gay. Having them be bisexual or gay ties in a whole different aspect to the story in which they can be in a safe environment and explore their sexuality in their chats. Then again I’m not sure if it’s too much for a story about making internetfriends. It would overshadow that aspect that really grabbed me at first. If I’m going to make it so that they are two boys/girls I could reveal it in their first skype chat, which will not happen very soon. Then the reader is already familiar with the characters and thus wouldn’t really care that much what their sexuality was. I don’t think it should be a huge deal, because it just isn’t. Just spewing ideas here, because that’s how my brain works when I’m on a roll. I just noticed that tumblr is used much more for personal discussions than even facebook. Especially by lgbt teens.

I’m excited that I managed to come up with a cool idea before the start of the month. I don’t know how it will go, because my deadline for school comes first. I can get a legit certificate in creative writing for the assignments I complete, so obviously that’s more important than a project that I’m just doing for myself.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo ’13 update

Leave a Reply

