Favorites of the year: books

This year I’ve read more books than I planned to do at the start. I’ve read 24 books in total. To some this may not seem like a lot, to others it’s more than they will read in 10 years.
I’ve read books that I wanted to read for a long time, books that I discovered this year and books that I was ‘forced’ to read. Some books I’ve liked, some books I hated and some books I respected, even though I didn’t like them that much. All in all every book I’ve read this year has learned me something to an extend. This post will only feature my favorite books of 2013.

Note: these books are some that I read in 2013. This does not have to mean that they have been published in that year.

1. Philip Pullman – The Northern Lights/The Golden Compass

13510575

This book by Philip Pullman was quite a ride. I instantely fell in love with the fierce Lyra. The worldbuilding and twists were very strong in this one. It is a children’s book, but one that is a little darker and makes you think about some aspects of life. Is it really better to do what your surperiors say even if it’s in the way of your own gut feeling? This book made me doubt that. The golden compass had a movie adaption, but really deserved much more recognition. It is a refreshing and thought provoking example in the genre.

2. Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus 

15714522

The Night Circus starts of very mysterious. The plot doesn’t really begin to unravel until halfwaythrough, but I didn’t even mind. This is because of the wonderful world that Morgenstern builds. She greatly teases the reader, who is left wanting more and more. Erin Morgenstern did a wonderful job of breathing the circus to life. The mysterious suspense kept me longing for the truth about the circus. This is not a book for everyone. For some it may be too detailed. It takes a while for all the details to fall into place.  Yet I was able to cope with that through the magnificant world building. It has some very interesting scenery and some very interesting characters. I’m especially in love with the Murray twins and Tsukiko.

3. Thomas Verbogt – Perfecte Stilte

11407297

First of all I should mention that this is a Dutch book. It’s one of the novels that I had to read for my Creative Writing classes at school. The last years I would almost resent Dutch books. I often read English books, because I thought them to be better. This book proved that, that was silly. I haven’t read a lot of books that can convey a message in just the right amount of words. Verbogt wrote about topics that were hard to cover, but he did it in a very chill way. This is a story that has touched my heart. It is one without much cliches. I’ll definately read this again, even if it is just to have an example of how to write a book that is very masterful in keeping the suspension.

4. Stephen Chbosky – The Perks of Being a Wallflower

13121501

It’s been a while since I touched a book that I couldn’t put down. I felt an urge to keep reading this from start to end. I love that! I love to read, but usually I read books in a lot of different sittings. It only took me about three to finish this one. I think it’s due to the simple writing style. Everything is told through letters of Charlie, the main character. Chbosky gets away with writing some dramatic and hard topics through these letters. It’s no wonder this has become such an iconic book. Look out for a review about this one.

Some books that I didn’t like this year were:
– Lauren Weisberger – Revenge Wears Prada
– Jan Wolkers – Roos van Vlees

3 thoughts on “Favorites of the year: books

Leave a Reply

