The Color Purple

I read because of two reasons. The first one is because I like to emerge myself into a strange world. To run through the pages as you would on an adventure. The second reason is that I like to learn. It’s so valuable to read books where you come across thoughts that your own mind cannot conjure. I’ve been craving the second reason for a while now, which is why I am on hunt for diverse books about worlds I will never fully understand. I’m trying to read more about miniorities to learn about their way of thinking and how they vieuw the world. This includes books about black culture.

The Color Purple teaches anyone why feminism is so important. It makes it very clear that it isn’t (just) about activism, but that it is the embodiment of the idea that woman should be treated equally. This is what Celie has to learn, too. So does Albert. It shouldn’t matter if you’re like Miss Eleonor or if you’re like Celie: woman. black. queer. They both deserve the same.

the-color-purple

This book taught me anything I could have asked for and more. It showed me some history of black culture, but it also presented me the basics a woman, or a person, should demand for themselves. Sometimes happiness is not given, sometimes you will never find it, but there is no excuse not fighting for it. It was wonderful reading about all the characters growing and feeling like I was learning so much along with them.

The first time I picked it up I had to stop after 20 pages. I had been meaning to read this before bedtime, but I just couldn’t continue anymore. The start of the book hit me really hard. It’s graphic and made me feel ashamed of humanity. That may sound like overreacting, but I really did feel sort of dirty. Yet in the morning I woke and the first thing I grabbed was this book. I almost couldn’t put it down ever since.

The Color Purple is a book by Alice Walker. This review was first posted on Goodreads in April 2016.

Leave a Reply

