Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” It has done so for Odette and me on our re-read. Once more we opened up the books as we did ten years ago and got carried away to the wizarding world. When I last closed this book I was 14. I had just begun my own adventure in a new school and was starting to learn that not all friendships were meant to last. But it was due to these books that I remained hopeful. I honed my writing skills (though there was much honing to do) and I found likeminded people online that liked the books as much as I did. Back then Harry’s outbursts were the epitome of my own teenage angst and the revelations about a mentor figure were a sort of betrayal.

relieken-van-de-dood

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a worthy end to the famous books. It wraps up mysteries in a heroic quest to save the day, without losing its magic. In all the other books the actual showdown took about 100 pages near the end. Here, there are a lot of battles to be fought and epic moments that can compare to the finales of all the other books. However there’s still a good pacing and a time for the characters to come to necessary realisations. In the end it’s not just Harry’s time to shine. The other boy that the prophecy could have been about as well, also has his heroic moments. Luna used to be my favorite character, since she has taught me to be unapologetic about who you are. She still has a special place in my heart, but I have to say I’m most impressed by Neville’s growth. I myself got sorted into Gryffindor and I used to say that would probably make me the Neville of that house. Having read all the books I can only hope I may be as brave and overcome my fears in the way he did.

Is J.K Rowling without flaws? No, I have no doubt I will find many in the Cursed Child screenplay (that I will be reading soon). In this real ending of her series I find she didn’t give Slytherin what it deserved. It’s not clear to me how many students are in that house, but was there seriously no one besides Slughorn that fought on Harry’s side? I’ve tried to tell myself that the way Slytherins are portrayed is just the way Harry views them, but that’s not really true. Where in most parts Harry Potter teaches its readers to treat everyone equal and shows redemption, in others it’s quite black and white. And seeing as Dumbledore was gay, it would’ve been great if she gave his words about Grindelwald a little more weight. Knowing this their ‘friendship’ becomes more special, but I don’t see why she kept it hidden. Even though his sexuality may be one of the many secrets Dumbledore had.

In the end Harry Potter is a part of my childhood that has made me who I am. It has the most impact on me out of all media I’ve consumed to this date. Thanks to this I think I have an openminded mind and try to see people for what they are, not what others say they are. It has given me hope, dreams and much more.

While re-reading this book in 2016 I am still working on my writing. One passionate thought I had while reading this hasn’t changed at all: I want to write a book that does only a little bit for others what Harry Potter did for me. But around me I’ve gathered a group of friends I feel as loyal about as Harry does. Being 24-years-old I am still carried away by this timeless tale. Although I did feel like I had aged. Harry’s outbursts felt so trivial and I fully accepted what had to be done for Harry to end up where he did. More and more I started to feel for the adults. Understanding their worries a little bit more, even though I only feel like I just started this adult thing. I can’t wait to read this series in 10 years and see what I think about it. Odette, will you be joining once more? ❤

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a novel by J.K Rowling. I’ve read this in Dutch.

Leave a Reply

